Friday, May 20, 2011

New VTC computer building inaugurated at Kalaigaon in Assam

The newly built computer building of Vocational Training Centre (VTC),Kalaigaon has been inaugurated at Kalaigaon on May 19.Major Arvind Kumar of 2 Field Regiment under Red Horns Division formally inaugurated the new building in presence of Major Sammir Bankankar and other distinguished people.The construction was done under the supervision of Lt Col S Giri of 2 Field Regiment,Mangaldai.On the occasion Major Arvind Kumar requested people of Kalaigaon particularly students and youths of the locality to take advantage of the VTC services so as to make computer science as a profession.He also said that Indian Army had ben helping the people of Assam for all round development.According to him with the improvement of law and order situation in the state,army had been concentrating more on welfare activities. Jayanta Kumar Das,Asstt.Secy,VTC Kalaigaon in his welcome speech gratefully remembered the contribution of 65 Field Regiment and 2 Field Regiment under Red Horns Division for the construction of the VTC at Kalaigaon.It is worth mentioning that noted freedom fighter and social worker late Pani Ram Das had donated 2 bighas of land for the construction of VTC in 2009.The VTC has been offering training in various trades like computer,electrical weilding etc since its establishment in 2009.Distinguished persons namely social woker Kami Ram Saharia,Mouzadar Kamal Prasad Sarma, gaonburah Jona Ram Tamuli,journalists Imran Hussain and Rabindra Rabha etc were present at the inaugural ceremony.More than three hundred students and teachers from near by schools also attended the ceremony where a few spectacular cultural items were also performed by the students.

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Mighty river Brahmaputra near Guwahati

A pair of white butterfly playing at Kalaigaon

A species of butterfly of Assam at Kalaigaon

Most spectacular 'Night Queen' flowering only in night at Kalaigaon Sevashram in Assam

Construction work of Kanak Lata Das bio-diversity conservation park in progress at Kalaigaon

Poll related steps of Udalguri dist admn appreciated

From Left-Bidit Das,Election Officer;MP Sarma,PD,DRDA and Thaneswar Malakar,DC,Udalguri

The media fraternity of Udalguri district have appreciated the district civil and police administration for initiating a few novel steps during the Assam assembly election and counting of votes on May 13. No occurrence of any kind of pre or post poll violence has justified the steps taken by Thaneswar Malakar,DC and Debajit Deuri,SP of the district.Both print and electronic media personal from places like Kalaigaon, Khoirabari, Bhergaon, Tangla,Udalguri,Mazbat and Orang have expressed satisfaction at the special arrangements for the polling and counting.The Media Centre, headed by Executive Magistrate Palas Ahom Rajkumar,had been equipped with television ,fax,computer with internet services for the media personal.In the morning of the counting day on May 13,para military personal refused entry of journalists with camera in to the counting hall.But at the intervention of the DC, camera was allowed as per guide line of the Election commission.For the first time in the district a VIP hall was set up within the counting complex for all the contesting candidates.The room was furnished with AC,television and sofas. Rihon Daimari,BPF MLA from Udalguri LAC (who had been the PHE Minister in the last assembly) and other BPF winning MLAs namely-Kamali Basumatari (Paneri LAC) and Rakheswar Brahma (Mazbat LAC) thanked Udalguri district administration for all the excellent arrangements.It needs mention that setting a good example,the Udalguri district administration had organised a ceremony at the end of the counting of votes where certificates to winning candidates were awarded.The district administration also felicitated both the Election Observers with gamocha,xarai and japi as a token of memory.The Udalguri Deputy Commissioner told this correspondent that he would soon convey a meeting with all the four newly elected representatives of the four LACs namely -Kalaigaon ,Paneri, Udalguri and Mazbat to discuss burning problems of the district.He said that the media personals of the whole district would also be invited to the meeting.

On the other hand Debajit Deuri,SP,Udalguri thanked media for support and cooperation during poll and counting.On the occasion he said that Udalguri police would soon launch a massive campaign against with-hunting practice in the district and sought cooperation of media to curb the social evil.

Saturday, May 14, 2011

Congress and BPF sweep Assam assembly election in Darrang and Udalguri

The results of the assembly election which was held in April.2011 has been declared on May 13 in Assam.Congress has won three seats in Darrang district while its ally BPF won three seats in Udalguri district.The remaining one seat has been won by AGP.In the 126 strong Assam assembly Congress won absolute majority by winning 78 seats alone.Its partner BPF won 12 seats,while AUDF won 18,AGP won 10 and BJP won 5 seats respectively.
Kamali Basumatari (64 Paneri LAC)
In 64 No.Paneri LAC, Kamali Basumatari of BPF (38202 votes) defeated nearest candidate Santias Kunjur of Congress (37647 votes).there were total 10 candidates.In 65 No. Kalaigaon LAC, Mukunda Ram Choudhuri of AGP (42525 votes) defeated nearest candidate Maheswar Boro of BPF (39727 votes).There were 9 candidates.In 66 No. Sipajhar LAC,Binanda Saikia of Congress (51821 votes) defeated nearest candidate Dr.Zoy Nath Sarma,an Independant (43173 votes).There were total 8 candidates.In 67 No.Mangaldai LAC,Basanta Das of Congress (65440 votes) defeated nearest candidate Mahendra Das of AUDF (41717 votes).There were total 5 candidates.In 68 No. Dalgaon LAC,Illias Ali of Congress (62280 votes) defeated nearest candidate Majibur Rahman of AUDF (58616 votes).There were total 6 candidates.
Rihon Daimari (69 Udalguri LAC)
 In 69 No.Udalguri LAC,Rihon Daimari of BPF(40770 votes) defeated nearest candidate Bhraman Baglari of UDPF (23776 votes).There were 5 candidates.
Rakheswar Brahma (70 Mazbat LAC)
 In 70 No. Mazbat LAC,Rakheswar Brahma of BPF (25271 votes) defeated nearest candidate Jitu Kishan of Congress (23048 votes)